Vermont Truck Driving Schools

Truck driving careers in Vermont are in abundance. If you love cold winters and warm summers, there are many opportunities for you to explore throughout the state.

Salary & Career Information

The salaries for truck driving careers in Vermont has been estimated by The Bureau of Labor Statistics to be about $38,690. You can choose various aspects of your career that can help you to earn more Ė such as the industry you work in and how many hours you want to work in a week.

Each industry that you can drive for offers something different. You will need to compare some of the industries, such as agriculture, forestry, general trucking and cement mixing in order to determine which suits your lifestyle and which will pay what you need.

The job stability is high with truck driving. The Bureau of Labor Statistics has even gone as far as estimating a 21 percent incline in the number of jobs that will become available over the next 10 years. This will allow you to find a rewarding career.

Starting a Truck Driving Career

When you start a truck driving career, you wonít need a formal education beyond a high school diploma or a GED. You can get started as soon as you complete a CDL training course, allowing you to begin a career faster than many other careers.

You have the ability to choose a schedule that you enjoy. If being close to home is important to you, many companies offer local routes. If you would rather spend the bulk of your days driving back and forth across the country, there are opportunities for you that offer that as well.

As a truck driver, you are essentially your own boss Ė at least while you are in the truck. You wonít see your boss very often and you will be alone in your truck. This allows you to determine what music you will listen to, when to take your lunch breaks and much more.

Laws & Regulations to be Aware Of

Consider some of the laws and regulations within Vermont. This includes what you need to obtain your CDL in the state. You will need a valid Vermont driverís license, be at least 18 years old and have a medical certificate to show you are mentally and physically capable of driving a big rig.

You also have to be aware of the DOT regulations. You will not be able to drive longer than 11 hours in a single sitting and you will not be able to drive more than 70 hours within 8 consecutive days. These hours must be submitted to the DOT in a special report each month.

The more you familiarize yourself with the traffic laws, the better off you will be. If you receive a traffic citation, points can go on your license and you will be liable for the fine, not your company.

Students who are interested in driving tractor-trailers must attend a training course consisting of at least 148 hours to obtain a Class A commercial driver's license (CDL). The acquisition of a Class B CDL for driving straight trucks with no vehicle in tow requires a 74-hour course, and a Class B driver can upgrade to a Class A CDL with an additional 74 hours of training.

Links and Resources

Vermont CDL Requirements

The state of Vermont has several requirements for individuals who are seeking a commercial driverís license (CDL). Some of these requirements are specific to the state of Vermont but also conform to the minimum guidelines that have been set forth by the federal government.

Individuals who are applying for a CDL in the state of Vermont must at least meet these minimum qualifications:

  • Age 18 or older

  • Maintain a standard Vermont driverís license in good standing

  • Have two documents proving residency in the state

  • Have access to the type of commercial vehicle that will be operated

The state provides a 200 page commercial driver license manual that describes all of the information that must be known in order to acquire a CDL. There some classes that can be taken through private businesses that can assist individuals who need more instructions than what the basic manual can provide. Any person who will be driving a commercial vehicle outside of Vermont will need to be 21 or older in order to hold a CDL due to interstate commerce laws.

The first thing that must be done after filling out an application is to take the CDL written test at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This test is based on the information in the manual that is provided to CDL applicants. Passing this test means that the applicant will be issued a commercial driver instruction permit.

After gaining the necessary driving experience, the applicant must take a skills test. The skills assessment judges the ability to handle a commercial vehicle. The applicant must supply the vehicle and it must meet the following guidelines:

  • Valid registration in Vermont

  • Must pass a pre-trip inspection

  • Must be empty of cargo

  • Must meet minimum commercial vehicle guidelines for weight

An applicant who passes the skills assessment will be issued a Vermont CDL. Any other type of driverís license will need to be surrendered at this time. Additionally, the driver must submit a medical certification that proves he or she is physically capable of handling the vehicle. Further documents are required for licenses that will be used in interstate commerce, or for certifications dealing with the transport of hazardous materials.

Champlain Valley Truck Driver Training School
57 Gonyeau Rd.
Milton, VT 05468

Northeast Driver Qualifiers
37 Reservoir Rd.
Springfield, VT 05156

Vermont Truck Driver Training
740 US Rt 7
Pittsford, VT 05763