New Jersey Truck Driving Schools
New Jersey offers a number of truck driving careers. You will be able to enjoy the cold winters and the warm summers that the state has to offer. Depending on your routes, you may find yourself driving through Atlantic City, Trenton or even into New York City on a regular basis.


Quick Info



  • Drivers average $44,030 per year in earnings (above the national average)

  • New Jersey has aver 38,000 professional drivers

  • Some of the most important industries are Agriculture, Food Processing, and Energy


Salary and Career



The average New Jersey truck driver earns an average salary of $44,030, says the Bureau of Labor Statistics. You may have control over this salary based upon the endorsements on your license, the company you work for and your experience level as a truck driver.

Various industries exist in the state that rely on Class A commercial drivers. You can look into government, general trucking, food and beverage production and many other industries. Each has their own benefits, so itís important to do your research.

Itís likely that your career will be stable because of the growing need for truckers. Companies need truckers for the transportation of their products and this has led to the Bureau of Labor Statistics estimating growth in the field to be 21 percent within the next 10 years.

Benefits to a Truck Driving Career



As a truck driver, you can experience an array of benefits. You may be able to find a company that gives you a local route. This could mean being able to drive during the day and be able to sleep in your own bed each night.

Various opportunities exist that allow you to earn more money. When you drive longer hours, take on more responsibilities or even own your own truck, you can increase your salary considerably. The more you learn about the overall position, the more opportunities it will open up for you. You may also be able to purchase your own truck and run your own business as an Owner Operator driver.

Important Laws and Regulations in New Jersey



You will need to abide by the laws and regulations in the state of New Jersey. This includes earning your CDL, which requires you to be 18 or older Ė and 21 or older to drive across state lines.

There are also anti-idling laws to be aware of in New Jersey. It is illegal to idle a truck longer than 3 minutes at a time anywhere in New Jersey. Local laws may vary, and you should check idling restrictions where you stop.

Any other state laws must be abided by as well to avoid points on your license. Any suspension of your driverís license will result in suspension of your CDL as well. Many employers run driving record checks prior to offering you employment, so itís important to avoid points on your license from this standpoint.

Truck driving careers in New Jersey are numerous but they can vary significantly. Do your research to see where the best opportunities exist before you accept a job offer with one company over another one.

Links and Resources


Choose a CDL School in New Jersey!

Location: Bordentown, New Jersey
Smith and Solomon Training Solutions have several training facilities throughout the northeast. We offer the essentials in CDL training through hands-on and in-class instruction. Start your CDL training and begin your rewarding ca...
Location: Lakewood, New Jersey
Smith and Solomon Training Solutions have several training facilities throughout the northeast. We offer the essentials in CDL training through hands-on and in-class instruction. Start your CDL training and begin your path to a ne...
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Smith and Solomon Training Solutions have several training facilities throughout the northeast. We offer the essentials in CDL training through hands-on and in-class instruction. Start your CDL training and begin your rewarding ca...
Location: Linden, New Jersey
Smith and Solomon Training Solutions have several training facilities throughout the northeast. We offer the essentials in CDL training through hands-on and in-class instruction. Start your CDL training and begin your rewarding ca...
Location: Lester, Pennsylvania
Prepare for a career in the transportation industry. All-State Career Ė Lester offers driving training to prepare you for a new job!
Location: Lake Milton, Ohio
TDDS strives to be a leader in providing diesel mechanic training, technician training and professional truck driver training. For over 33 years, students have been turning to TDDS for career training. Since then, TDDS has produce...

CDL Requirements in New Jersey



People who are going to need to drive a vehicle in New Jersey with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) equal to 26,001 pounds and above will need to have a Class A license. The other requirement is that the GVWR of the vehicle these people are towing be more than 10,000 pounds.

Qualifications for the Applicants

The people who will be driving the vehicles also have a few requirements that they must meet before they will be invited to begin the CDL testing process. If the applicants are at least 18 years of age, have a driver license from the state of New Jersey, can pass a vision test and obtain a medical certificate, they qualify to become Class A driver license holders in New Jersey.

How to Add Endorsements to the CDL

Some drivers need to add endorsements to their licenses, making it possible for them to perform other activities that the Class A driver license without such endorsements does not allow. For example, if applicants are going to be transporting hazardous materials, they will need to add the hazardous materials endorsement to their licenses. This will require them to undergo all of the testing for the CDL as well as further testing for the endorsement.

Disqualifications for the Hazardous Materials Endorsement

Some people will be unable to qualify for the hazardous materials endorsement. These are people who have been convicted of one or more of several violent crimes.

The CDL Application Process

Those who qualify to begin the CDL process will need to go to their local offices of the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) where they can pick up the CDL driver license manual. This manual will be instrumental in helping them pass their written tests. Applicants will need to present their current driver licenses, prove their identities and pay the $125 fee for the application and the tests. After they have done this, they will receive their permits.

First, some applicants will be required to take their physical examinations before they can take their written tests. Once the applicants have passed their written and vision tests, they can move on to the CDL skills test after at least 10 days of practice. Once they pass, they can immediately go to the MVC for their New Jersey Commercial Driver Licenses.

City Truck Driving School



Bloomfield,NJ

City Truck Driving School



Newark,NJ

City Truck Driving School



Paterson,NJ

City Truck Driving School



Elizabeth,NJ

E-Z Wheels Driving School, Inc.



1516 Summit Ave.
Union City,NJ

Hamson Truck Driving School



3616 US Hwy 22
Witehouse,NJ

Moga Truck Driver School



80 Port St.
Neward,NJ

Ocean County Vo-Tech School



P. O. Box 1125 NAES
Lakehurst,NJ

Shore Tractor Trailer Training



600 Cross St.
Lakewood,NJ

Winsor's Tractor Trailer Driving School



3106 South Wood Ave.
Linden,NJ