Truck driving careers in Missouri can be very exciting. Whether you drive a tanker or a tractor trailer, you can find many jobs and all you need to be hired is a CDL and a clean driving record.Salary & Career Outlook
Approximate salary information for truck driving careers in Missouri is $38,180 (Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics
). This estimated salary is about par with the average for truckers in the nation. The industry you ultimately drive for ad the amount of experience you have will determine your true salary.
There are more trucking jobs now than ever before – and that number is rapidly growing. By 2020, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, there could be 21 percent more jobs on the market than there are today. This is job stability for you. It also provides you with a vast number of employment opportunities to choose from.
You need to know what your employment opportunities are and how they differ. Explore the differences in the different industries and what the requirements are to be hired within each industry. You may need to be of a certain age, take on more responsibilities or have specific endorsements on your CDL.Important Laws & Regulations
You must be at least 18 to apply for your CDL. After passing a vision test and showing a medical certificate, you will then need to pass a pre-trip inspection, a driving test and a written test. Only then can you be given a CDL.
When you are a trucker in Missouri, you will need to follow the driving laws. The Department of Revenue is able to suspend your driving privileges if you accumulate 8 points or more in a period of 18 months. Your first suspension will be for 3 months and from there it can increase to 6 months or more.
Explore your opportunities once you have a CDL and find out what you can expect with a trucking career in Missouri. Links and Resources
Missouri CDL Requirements
Like most states, Missouri has strict requirements for obtaining a Commercial Driver's License (CDL). An applicant must first present identification and proof of residence. A current driver's license, birth certificate, or passport are most commonly used for identification purposes, while the DMV will accept utility bills, mortgage statements and similar documents as proof of residence.
All applicants must also pass a background check. This latter will check the applicant's criminal and driving history. If he or she has had a driver's license in another state, the DMV will pull the applicant's driving history for the past 10 years from that state. In addition, all applicants have to pass a physical and present a medical card that says they are in good health. Applicants may be disqualified for having a poor driving record or for having certain health conditions, such as epilepsy. They may also be disqualified from obtaining certain endorsements, such as the hazardous materials endorsement, if they have a criminal record.
The next step in the process is a knowledge exam. Each applicant must pass a test that assesses his or her knowledge of the rules, regulations and procedures for driving a commercial vehicle. If he or she wishes to drive specialized vehicles, such as a school bus or a hazardous materials truck, he or she will have to take additional tests on those topics.
Once an applicant has passed the knowledge test, he or she can take the skills test. This three-part test begins with the pre-trip inspection required or all commercial carriers. This means the applicant must tell the tester if the vehicle is safe to drive and why or why not. Next, the applicant's ability to handle the vehicle by backing it up, turning it and maneuvering it around obstacles will be tested. Finally, the applicant's on-road driving skills will be assessed.
The Missouri State Highway Patrol is responsible for conducting all CDL exams. The fee for a six-month permit is $7.50. A three-year CDL costs $22.50, and a six-year CDL costs $45. CDL applicants in Missouri are not required to take a training course, but the DMV highly recommends it. Applicants who wish to go through a training course will first take the knowledge test and get a permit and then take the skills test once their training is completed.
By federal requirement, each state has standards for licensing commercial drivers. The class of license you're seeking will determine what tests you'll be required to take. The CDL knowledge tests include:
- The general knowledge test, taken by all applicants.
- The passenger transport test (bus drivers).
- The air brakes test, which you must take if your vehicle has air brakes.
- The combination vehicles test, which is required if you want to drive combination vehicles.
- The hazardous materials test, required if you want to haul hazardous material or waste in amounts that require placarding.
- The tanker test, required if you want to haul liquids in bulk.
- The doubles/triples test, required if you want to pull double or triple trailers
The fee for a Missouri CDL instruction permit is $7.50 and the permit is valid for six months.
The fee for a Missouri CDL is $22.50 for a three-year license or $45 for a six-year license. If you lose your license, you'll need to pay $22.50 to request a duplicate of a three-year license or $25 to obtain a duplicate of a six-year license.American Truck Training
5036 Gardner Ave.
Kansas City, MO 64120 C-1 Truck Driver Training
6395 E. State Highway OO
Strafford MO 65757 Crowder College Transport Training
Neosho, MO 64850 Hook Up Drivers
5465 Hwy 43 S.
Joplin, MO 64804 MTC Truck Driver Training
11842 Missouri Bottom Rd.
Hazelwood, MO 63042 Nu-Way Truck Driving School
2160 South Service Rd. West
Saint Peters, MO 63376 South Central Career Center
1009 Jackson St.
West Plains, MO 65775 Southern Missouri Truck Driving School
105 Arnold Blvd.
Malden, MO 63863