You can find an array of truck driving careers in Louisiana. Regardless of the industry you want to work and the hours you want to keep, you will find opportunities to take advantage of throughout the state.Salary and Career
The average salary, suggested by the BLS
, is $38,340 for truck driving careers in Louisiana. This salary is approximately what the national average for truckers is. Should you want to earn more, consider the amount of experience you have, the industry you want to work in as well as the amount of hours you are willing to put in.
There are many industries for truckers in the state of Louisiana. You can work for the government, food and beverage manufacturing plants, general trucking companies and many others. Each will have you driving a different kind of truck, have different employment requirements and provide a different base pay. Itís a good idea to explore your options to determine which industry has the best offer for your circumstances.
You will begin to see more and more opportunities for trucking careers in Louisiana and throughout the country. The Bureau of Labor Statistics has commented that a 21 percent growth is expected to take place in the career field within the next 10 years.Important Laws and Regulations
Obtaining a CDL in Louisiana is relatively easy. You will need to produce a medical certificate and show proof of a valid driverís license. You will have to be at least 18 to apply for the CDL and if you want to be an interstate driver, you have to be at least 21 years of age.
There are DOT regulations that you need to be aware of in the state as well. You will have to track the hours you are on the road and submit your time on a monthly report. It is not permitted to drive more than 11 hours at a time nor more than 60 hours in a 7 day period.
Truck driving careers in Louisiana are everywhere, so once you have a CDL, you can pursue them all. Links and Resources
Louisiana CDL Requirements
In Louisiana, there are several steps to complete to receive a Commercial Driverís License, and a fairly short time period in which to complete the process. Once the process is begun, it must be completed at the same Driverís License office, with the exception of the actual driving tests.
The prospective CDL recipient must complete their medical fitness examination and have a DPSMV 2219 form filled out prior to applying. This form must be presented along with proof of Social Security number, valid photo driverís license, liability insurance proof on their personal vehicle and a completed Supplemental Application Form. A $15 cash-only fee must be paid at the time of application.
All applicants are required to take a General Knowledge Test. Additional tests are required for air brakes, Class A combination vehicles, tankers, doubles/triples, hazardous materials or passenger transport.
Once the applicant passes the written tests, theyíll receive a CDL Instructional Permit which is valid for 60 days. The permit can be extended if the driver needs more practice time with a licensed CDL driver. The written test results expire in six months. If the driver fails to complete the licensing process within six months, the test results are voided and he or she must start over.
The driving portions of the process are completed at a Third Party Tester site. There are dozens of testing sites scattered all over the state. The applicant will be administered a three-part skills test that consists of pre-trip inspection, on-road driving and basic controls. Test results are sealed in an envelope which is then presented to the Driver License office. If the envelope is tampered with, the CDL office will decline to issue the license.
The Third Party testing is $60 if administered in a vehicle provided by you. Some centers have rental vehicles available for an additional fee. The license itself costs $41, or $51 if issued in Orleans Parish. Endorsements are $5 each. A motorcycle endorsement is $8. The Parish also charges a fee which can be no more than $3.
In Louisiana, a CDL is valid for four years. Louisiana doesnít offer a grace period after expiration and considers driving without a valid license to be a serious crime.
There are 3 types of CDL certifications in Louisiana.
Coastal Truck Driving School
- Louisiana Class A CDL: For truck drivers operating vehicles with a combined GVWR of more than 26,001 pounds.
- Louisiana Class B CDL: For truck drivers operating a single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more.
- Louisiana Class C CDL: For operators driving vehicles that don't meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers. This certification also includes permissions for operating vehicles that transport hazardous materials.
2419 I 49 Service Rd. South
Sunset, LA 70584 Coastal College Truck Driver Training
P. O. Box 210
Calhoun, LA 71225 Coastal College Truck Driver Training
42014 Yokum Rd.
Hammond, LA 70403 Coastal Truck Driving School
7516 Coliseum Blvd.
Alexandria, LA 71303 Diesel Driving Academy
3523 Greenwood Rd.
Shreveport, LA 71109 Diesel Driving Academy
8067 Airline Hwy.
Baton Rouge LA 70815 Lake Charles TDI
P. O. Box 7212
Lake Charles, LA 70606 Lake Charles Driver Institute
3501 5th Ave.
Lake Charles, LA 70605 Louisiana Tech truck Driver Training
P. O. Box 1120
Bastrop, LA 71221 Louisiana Tech Truck Driver Training
609 Vocational Pky West
Monroe, LA 71292 LTC-Acadian Campus Trk. Driver Training
1933 W. Hutchinson
Crowley, LA 70526 Thomas Truck Driving School
259 Dixie Rd.
Franklin, LA 70538