Finding an Arkansas truck driving school is simple and easy in a state with so many trucking companies and CDL training schools. This is one of the most beautiful states in America, with massive rolling hills and small-town charm running throughout several different areas of the state. Arkansas
CDL Training Requirements page to find out what will be covered on your CDL exam upon graduation. Salary & Career Outlook
The estimated salary for truck driving careers in Arkansas is $38,130 (Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics
). This salary is a little higher than the average for truckers in the country. You can also control your salary based on the industry you work in.
The career outlook is high due to extreme growth. A 21 percent growth is anticipated by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Many companies around the state are hiring truckers as a way of transporting their goods from warehouses to stores and from one location to another.
You will want to find out what the specifics are within each of the industries. If you work in one industry over another, you may be paid higher and you may need different endorsements on your license. Before you finish your CDL training school, these are things you want to know to make sure you seek out the right employment opportunities.Benefits of a Truck Driving Career
A top benefit to a truck driving career in Arkansas is that there are many employment opportunities out there. You can choose from many industries to work in and when you have more endorsements on your license, it can lead to being paid higher salaries, too.
There are 123 clear days in Arkansas a year. The weather is a huge factor in terms of job satisfaction when you spend the bulk of your days on the road. If you are constantly driving in rain and snow, it can begin to cause you a lot of problems and slow you down. In Arkansas, you wonít have to worry about that sort of thing.
Another benefit of being a trucker is that you wonít have to endure student loans. The only formal education you need is attending a CDL training school where you will learn how to drive a commercial vehicle. No four year degree is required for the majority of trucking positions available in the state.Important Laws & Regulations
Arkansas traffic laws must be followed at all times. Points coincide with the violations. If a person experienced 14 to 17 points at their license at any time, their CDL can be suspended for 3 months. 18 to 23 points and suspension is for 6 months. License suspension can cost you your job, so itís important to follow the laws.
DOT laws in Arkansas are also strict, stating that you cannot drive for more than 11 hours consecutively and that you cannot drive more than 60 hours in 7 days.
Itís important to find out about the Arkansas truck driving careers available to you. Many opportunities are out there, you simply need to know about each of them so you can make a decision in terms of which will provide you with the highest level of job satisfaction. Links and Resources
Choose a CDL School in Arkansas!
Location: Springfield, Missouri
You can arrive where you want to be with career training from Vatterott College. Vatterott College offers a career-focused education that emphasizes hands-on training from instructors. You can set your course for a new career at V...
Location: West Memphis, Arkansas
Roadmaster Drivers School strives to offer quality, comprehensive truck driver training that can help you begin a new career as a professional truck driver in as little as three weeks or eight weekends.
Location: North Little Rock, Arkansas
Discover the trucking industry at Diesel Driving Academy! Diesel Driving Academy has been training men and women for high paying jobs in the trucking industry since 1972.
Location: Lake Milton, Ohio
TDDS strives to be a leader in providing diesel mechanic training, technician training and professional truck driver training. For over 33 years, students have been turning to TDDS for career training. Since then, TDDS has produce...
Additional Trucking Schools in Arkansas
Company-Paid Truck Driver Training Program
Ready to start a career that will take you somewhere? The Driver Solutions Network offer... Read More
Arkansas CDL Requirements
If you are an Arkansas resident interested in driving a big rig for a living, youíll need an Arkansas commercial driverís license, or CDL. Each state has its own requirements for the CDL. Arkansasí CDL requirements are based on the federal requirements.
strong>Age Requirement:You must be 18 years of age to obtain a CDL in Arkansas. When you apply for your CDL you must show proof that you are at least 18 years old.† However, you must be 21 to drive across state lines.
strong>Arkansas Driverís License:Before obtaining an Arkansas CDL, you must have both an Arkansas driverís license and a good driving record. The standard for a good driving record in Arkansas is a completely clean record or only minor traffic infractions. You will not be able to apply for an Arkansas CDL if your record shows major infractions such as DUI or reckless driving.
Proof of Identity:To apply for a CDL in Arkansas, you must prove your identity with at least two documents. You must supply at least one item from the following list: Valid photo ID, valid driverís license, U.S. birth certificate, valid passport, valid military ID card, or immigration documents that contain a photo. You may supply two of the preceding items or one of those items and one of: School photo ID, affidavit from a parent, registration papers for a vehicle registered in your name, most recent tax return or marriage license.
Written Test:You will need to pass a written test of knowledge about Arkansas traffic laws applying to commercial drivers. This test covers not only driving laws but also rules concerning transporting hazardous materials, commercial hauling equipment, inspection procedures and driving and hauling safety. You may take this test at your nearest Arkansas State Police headquarters.
Road Skills Test:Unlike the written test, the road skills test is offered at only six State Police Headquarters locations: Hope, Little Rock, Newport, Pine Bluff, Russelville and Springdale. In addition to your ability to handle the vehicle on the road, you will also be tested on your knowledge regarding inspecting a vehicle before driving it.
Cost:The testing fee for the Arkansas CDL is $35, which covers the written and road tests for CDL applicants. The license fee required for a new license is $50.
Upon application for your CDL, youíll be asked to pass a written general knowledge test given by the Arkansas state police. Youíll then take a skills test at one of six locations statewide. This road skills test covers vehicle inspection, basic skills and driving.
7322 MacArthur Dr. N
Little Rock, AR 72118
Arkansas State University
7648 Victory Blvd
Newport, AR 72112
C-1 Truck Driver Training
7303 Highway 70 East
North Little Rock AR 72117
Cossatot Tech Coll. Trk Driver Training
183 Hwy 399
De Queen, AR 71832
Cotton Bowl Tech Truck Driver Trg.
P. O. Box 36
Burdette, AR 72321
Crowley's Ridge Truck Driver Training
P. O. Box 925
Forrest City, AR 72336
Delta Tech Institute
33500 Hwwy 63 E
Marked Tree, AR 72365
P. O. Box 11165
Fort Smith, AR 72917
Diesel driving Academy
Little Rock AR 71802
Gateway Tech Truck Driver Training
P. O. Box 3350
Batesville, AR 72503
2500 South Main
Hope AR 71802
Mid-South CC Truck Driving School
1550 N. Ingram, Ste D
West Memphis, AR 72301
MTA Arkansas State University
7648 Victory Blvd.
Newport, AR 72112
North Arkansas Tech
1515 Pioneer Drive
Harrison, AR 72601
NW Technical Institute Trk Driver Trg
P. O. Box A
Springdale, AR 72765
Ozarka Tech Truck Driver Training
218 South Drive
Melbourne, AR 72556
Phillips Community College
1210 Rice Belt Ave.
DeWitt, AR 72042
1550 Ingram Blvd Suite D
West memphis AR 72301
South Arkansas CC Truck Driver Training
3696 E. Main St.
El Dorado, AR 71730
Timberland Tech Trk. Driver Training
P. O. Box 575
Fordyce, AR 71742
University Truck Center
4601 S. University Ave.
Little Rock, AR 72204
5210 Grand Ave.
Fort Smith, AR 72913